AUDIO/RECAP: Kyle Amerson Banks Win in Senoia Summer Nationals Mini-Sprint Finale

Jacob Seelman Audio, Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Other Sprint Cars, Southeast, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

SENOIA, Ga. – Story and audio by Managing Editor Jacob Seelman for Speed77 Radio, Race Chaser Online and USCS Racing – Chris Seelman photo – With a blank wing on top of the car and a power move to the inside, Kyle Amerson got out the broom and swept Saturday night’s Senoia Summer Nationals mini-sprint finale.

Amerson blasted to the inside of preliminary night feature winner Dirk Miller on lap 12 of the 20-lap A-main and never looked back en route to the victory in the USCS 600 Sprint Series event Saturday at New Senoia Raceway.

The win was Amerson’s second career USCS-sanctioned mini-sprint victory and second win of 2014 following his maiden victory back in March at the Magnolia Motor Speedway.

“All weekend here at Senoia it’s taken about half the race before our car would kick in so right about lap ten there, the bottom side came in for me and it just took off,” Amerson said in USCS Victory Lane. “The lapped traffic was interesting but we were the fastest car out there when it counted and I couldn’t be more thankful to finally get another one of these.”

The race was slowed by caution once at lap 6 when the current runner-up in the USCS 600 Sprint Series points standings, Bo Barber, slowed to a crawl on the frontstretch. Barber was unable to continue and finished out of the race in 16th position.

Sanford, Florida’s Miller tried to chase Amerson back down but could not catch the ‘Flying 29’ and had to settle for second at the checkered flag. Two-time feature winner this season, Matt McCulough from Atlanta, Georgia, came home on the final step of the podium in third. 1998 USCS 360 Rookie of the Year Johnny Bridges, out of Cherryville, North Carolina, finished fourth and two-time USCS 600 champion Bobby Zaiontz rounded out the top five.

Ooltewah, Tennessee pilot Shawn Nelson led the next group of drivers home with a sixth place finish, and defending series champion Sean Hosey, from Clarksville, Tennessee finished seventh. Winder, Georgia veteran Mike Magic rolled home in eighth position and Casselberry, Florida’s David Hall finished ninth, coming back after flipping his car in hot laps. Alpharetta, Georgia native Bob Trapino rounded out the top ten at the finish.

Amerson kicked off the night by grabbing the win in the Hoosier Tire Speed Dash, and followed that with the win in the Engler Machine and Tool First Heat. Dirk Miller notched the win in the Second Heat.

Amerson was the provisional polesitter after scoring the most passing points in heat race action, but following a four coming up in the K&N Inversion Draw, Johnny Bridges grabbed the K&N Filters Pole Position. Bob Trapino passed the most cars in the main event (four) to garner the Wilwood Disc Brakes Hard Charger Award.

The USCS 600 Sprint Car Series season continues on Friday, October 3rd with an event at Carolina Speedway in Gastonia, North Carolina.

For rules and updated schedule information about the USCS 600 Sprint Car series please visit or call the series office at 770-460-7223 or 770-865-6097.


Audio with race winner Kyle Amerson:


RESULTS: USCS 600 Sprint Car Series @ New Senoia Raceway; September 20, 2014 

Hoosier Tire Speed Dash: Kyle Amerson, Matt McCullough, Dirk Miller, Bobby Zaiontz, Mike Magic, David Hall.

Engler Machine and Tool First Heat: Kyle Amerson, Johnny Bridges, Matt McCullough, Shawn Nelson, Sean Hosey, Darl Parvin, Bo Barber, Michael Barton. Second Heat: Dirk Miller, Mike Magic, Bobby Zaiontz, Shane Werner, Brandon Taylor, David Hall, Bob Trapino, Shaun Fitzgerald. USCS 600 Sprint A-Main 20 laps:

  1. #29 – Kyle Amerson, Montgomery, AL
  2. #68 – Dirk Miller, Sanford, FL
  3. #14M – Matt McCullough, Atlanta, GA
  4. #5B – Johnny Bridges, Cherryville, NC
  5. #1 – Bobby Zaiontz, Columbus, MS
  6. #88A – Shawn Nelson, Ooltewah, TN
  7. #6 – Sean Hosey, Clarksville, TN
  8. #5M – Mike Magic, Winder, GA
  9. #67 – David Hall, Casselberry, FL
  10. #98 – Bob Trapino, Alpharetta, GA
  11. #07 – Brandon Taylor, Cumming, GA
  12. #28 – Shaun Fitzgerald,
  13. #D14 – Darl Parvin, Corinth, MS
  14. #21 – Michael Barton, Castalian Springs, MS
  15. #48 – Shane Werner, McDonough, GA
  16. #14B – Bo Barber, Clarksville, TN


USCS 600 Sprint Race Awards:

Hoosier Tire Speed Dash:  #29 – Kyle Amerson
Engler Machine and Tool First Heat:  #29 – Kyle Amerson Second Heat:  #68 – Dirk Miller
K&N Filters Pole Award:  #5B – Johnny Bridges
K&N Filters Podium (3rd place) Award:  #14M – Matt McCullough
Wilwood Disc Brakes Hard Charger Award:  #98 – Bob Trapino
Keizer Aluminum Wheels Top Five Award:  #1 – Bobby Zaiontz
Saldana Racing Products Super Sixth Award:  #88A – Shawn Nelson
DMI/Bulldog Rear Ends Top Ten Award:  #98 – Bob Trapino

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *