AUDIO/RECAP: Mike Magic Sweeps to Second USCS Micro Sprint Triumph of 2014 at Toccoa

Jacob Seelman Audio, Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Micro Sprints, Southeast, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

TOCCOA, Ga. – Audio and recap by Managing Editor Jacob Seelman for Speed77 Radio, Race Chaser Online and USCS Racing – Chris Seelman photo – Get out the broom.

Winder, Georgia veteran and home state driver Mike Magic scored an unexpected clean sweep during Sunday night’s USCS 600 Sprint Series 20-lap feature event at Toccoa Speedway, inheriting the lead at lap 11 after race leaders Matt McCullough and Kyle Amerson crashed in turn 2 and never looking back en route to the “Sunday of Speed” event win.

The victory was Magic’s second USCS win of the 2014 season and his fourth career 600 Sprint Series victory, after he kicked off the night by grabbing the win in the Hoosier Tire Speed Dash and then took the win in the Engler Machine and Tool First Heat.

“This was completely unexpected; we didn’t have the fastest car tonight and we don’t always have the fastest car compared to some of these guys who can stand on it down the straightaway, but you know – sometimes its better to be lucky than good,” a stunned Magic said in USCS Victory Lane. “Tonight we had that luck and it got us a big win. I couldn’t be more proud of my guys; there aren’t a lot of us and it’s tough sometimes, but we did it tonight.”

The race’s only accident occurred on the aforementioned eleventh lap. McCullough, who had started from the K&N Filters pole position, was leading the race and coming up to lap Bo Barber in turn two. Second-running Amerson got a run from behind and moved to the inside to challenge for the lead but all three cars came together and ended up crashed at the exit of the corner, with Amerson tipping onto his side. All drivers were okay in the incident.

14-year-old Cumming, Georgia young gun Brandon Taylor chased Magic across the line to finish second and defending series champion Sean Hosey rounded out the podium in third. Casselberry, Florida’s David Hall finished fourth and Bob Trapino, out of Alpharetta, Georgia rounded out the top five.

Sanford, Florida driver Dirk Miller came home in sixth, with rookie of the year contender Bo Barber coming home seventh. Michael Barton was the last car running; he finished in the eighth position.

Beside’s Magic’s sweep, in other preliminary action, Amerson notched the win in the Second Heat.

David Hall was the provisional polesitter after scoring the most passing points in heat race action, but following the K&N Inversion Draw, Matt McCullough grabbed the K&N Filters Pole Position. Sean Hosey passed the most cars in the main event (four) to garner the Wilwood Disc Brakes Hard Charger Award.

The USCS 600 Sprint Car Series season continues on September 13th with the Tennessee Fall Nationals at Tennessee National Raceway in Hohenwald, Tennessee.

For rules and updated schedule information about the USCS 600 Sprint Car series please visit or call the series office at 770-460-7223.


RESULTS: USCS 600 Sprint Car Series @ Toccoa Speedway; August 31st, 2014 

Hoosier Tire Speed Dash: Mike Magic, Brandon Taylor, David Hall, Kyle Amerson, Dirk Miller, Matt McCullough.

Engler Machine and Tool First Heat: Mike Magic, David Hall, Brandon Taylor, Bo Barber, Michael Barton, Nick Snyder (DNS). Second Heat: Kyle Amerson, Matt McCullough, Bob Trapino, Sean Hosey, Dirk Miller. USCS 600 Sprint A-Main 20 laps:

  1. #5M – Mike Magic, Winder, GA
  2. #07 – Brandon Taylor, Cumming, GA
  3. #6 – Sean Hosey, Clarksville, TN
  4. #67 – David Hall, Casselberry, FL
  5. #98 – Bob Trapino, Alpharetta, GA
  6. #68 – Dirk Miller, Sanford, FL
  7. #14 – Bo Barber, Clarksville, TN
  8. #21 – Michael Barton,
  9. #14M – Matt McCullough, Atlanta, GA
  10. #29 – Kyle Amerson, Montgomery, AL
  11. #3D – Nick Snyder, Marco Island, FL (DNS)


Audio with race winner Mike Magic:


USCS 600 Sprint Race Awards:

Hoosier Tire Speed Dash:  #5M – Mike Magic
Engler Machine and Tool First Heat:  #5M – Mike Magic Second Heat:  #29 – Kyle Amerson
K&N Filters Pole Award:  #14M – Matt McCullough
K&N Filters Podium (3rd place) Award:  #6 – Sean Hosey
Wilwood Disc Brakes Hard Charger Award:  #6 – Sean Hosey
Keizer Aluminum Wheels Top Five Award:  #98 – Bob Trapino
Saldana Racing Products Super Sixth Award:  #68 – Dirk Miller
DMI/Bulldog Rear Ends Top Ten Award:  #29 – Kyle Amerson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *