IndyCar: Championship Celebration October 20 at Universal Studios Hollywood

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Midwest, Sprints & Midgets, West 0 Comments

INDIANAPOLIS (Friday, Sept. 20, 2013) – The stars of the IZOD IndyCar Series and Firestone Indy Lights will cap the 2013 season with the Championship Celebration Oct. 20 at Universal Studios Hollywood theme park in Universal City, Calif.

The Championship Celebration will take place the day after the INDYCAR World Championships at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, Calif., and will be streamed live on at 8:30 p.m. (ET).

The festivities at Universal Studio’s Globe Theatre, a multi-purpose facility near the entrance of the theme park, will be highlighted by the presentation of the Astor Cup and $1 million bonus to the IZOD IndyCar Series championship-winning team and driver. The Firestone Firehawk Cup will be presented to the championship-winning Firestone Indy Lights team and driver.

“The championship celebration is a time to reflect on all the great competition that has defined the 2013 season,” said Mark Miles, CEO, Hulman & Co, the parent company of INDYCAR. “The ornate Globe Theatre at Universal Studios provides the perfect backdrop for INDYCAR to celebrate the tremendous accomplishments of our champion drivers and other award recipients.”

A limited number of tickets are available for purchase by the public by calling 800-822-4639.

A Southern California venue will host the Championship Celebration for the second time since 2005, when the IZOD IndyCar Series and Firestone Indy Lights champions were honored at the Paramount Theatre in Hollywood.

Other Championship Celebrations have been held at the Murat Theatre in Indianapolis (2000), the Speedway Club in Fort Worth, Texas (2001) and the House of Blues in Chicago (2002). Disney’s Epcot Center and the cruise ship Disney Wonder hosted the Championship Celebration in 2003 and ’04, respectively. Indianapolis Motor Speedway hosted the event in 2006, 2007 and 2012, while the 2008 event was held at The Palms Casino Resort in Las Vegas. The 2009 and 2010 Championship Celebrations were held at the W South Beach. The 2011 champions were recognized during a 2012 season kickoff event at the Hilbert Circle Theater in Indianapolis.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *