DIRTcar: Babb Wins at Farley for 84th Career Summer Nationals Victory

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Midwest, Other Dirt Late Models, Racing Nation 0 Comments

FARLEY, IA — official release — Shannon Babb captured the outright lead on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals all-time win list in dramatic fashion Tuesday night, snapping Rick Eckert’s two-race win streak and claiming his 84th career victory at Farley Speedway.

Babb’s victory came at the expense and heartbreak of another series great, Billy Moyer, who started the 50-lap feature on the inside of row two behind pole-sitter Ryan Unzicker. Moyer seized the lead from Unzicker after the first lap, quickly separating himself from the rest of the field. Moyer dominated the race until lap 41, when bad luck struck.

Moyer spun while leading in turn two after blowing a right-rear tire, handing the lead over to second-place Babb, who rallied from the sixth starting position. Babb led the final nine laps, claiming the $10,000 checkered flag and the overall lead on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals all-time wins list.

Unzicker, Eckert, Bobby Pierce and Brandon Sheppard rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Unzicker, Moyer and Brian Shirley.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals continues on Wednesday night at Spoon River Speedway in Canton, Ill.


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Farley Speedway; Farley, Iowa; June 15, 2014

A-Main (50-laps): 1. 18-Shannon Babb ($10,000), 2. 24-Ryan Unzicker, 3. 1-Rick Eckert, 4. 32-Bobby Pierce, 5. B5-Brandon Sheppard, 6. 81-Brian Shirley, 7. 21JR-Billy Moyer Jr, 8. 98-Jason Rauen, 9. 10S-Scott Schmitt, 10. 32J-Jason Jaggers, 11. 81JR-Jason Riggs, 12. 21-Billy Moyer, 13. 5M-Mike Fryer, 14. 28M-Jimmy Mars, 15. 10P-Pete Parker, 16. 56-Andy Eckrich, 17. 58-Ray Guss Jr, 18. 15B-Brian Birkhofer, 19. 32S-Chris Simpson, 20. 17-Jim Shereck, 21. 22-Gregg Satterllee, 22. 16-Tyler Bruening


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *