Seekonk Speedway: Tom Scully Jr, Anthony Nocella, Gerry DeGasparre, Mike Mitchell and Mike Cavallaro are 2013 DAV Saturday Winners

RaceChaser Staff Northeast 0 Comments

Tom Scully Jr picked up his second DAV Fall Classic win on Saturday, holding off a hard charging Derek Ramstrom over the final laps. Kevin Folan and Ken Spencer raced wheel to wheel for the lead, with Spencer edging out Folan at the line on the 3rd lap. As the field headed into turn one, Dave Hutchins spun high in the turn. It looked like it would be a single car incident until Mike Brightman, Dave Darling and Dave Silvia made contact, eliminating all at the time. Silvia returned many laps behind.

Spencer took control and set the pace for the next dozen laps with some pressure from Scully. Spencer held on through a pair of restarts, but couldn’t hold off the Wheelock’s NAPA Auto Group Ford as on the sixteenth circuit, Scully moved past and into the lead. By the quarter-mark, Scully held a several length lead over Spencer, Larry Gelinas, Craig Weinstein and Derek Ramstrom.

The top five ran the same at the half way mark, but just past that, Ramstrom and Weinstein got together with Craig going around. Derek was penalized to the rear.

Gelinas was able to overtake Spencer for second, but fell back to third when Ryan Vanasse moved past into second on the 61st circuit. Gelinas and Ramstrom battled for third until the former Thompson Speedway champion moved by at the 75 lap mark.

Over the final quarter of the race, Ramstrom closed in on Vanasse and moved past with four laps remaining. With one more effort, he took a couple of looks at Scully, but ran out of time as Scully beat Ramstrom to the checkered by .252. Vanasse, Spencer and Dick Houlihan rounded out the top five.

1) Tom Scully Jr 2) Derek Ramstrom 3) Ryan Vanasse 4) Ken Spencer 5) Dick Houlihan 6) Larry Gelinas 7) Fred Astle Jr 8) Craig Weinstein 9) Tommy Ellis 10) Russ Hersey 11) John Dobrowski 12) Kevin Folan 13) Rick Martin 14) Phil Meany 15) Frank Duquette 16) Elmer Wing III 17) Dennis Maxfield 18) Tom Scully Sr19) Dave Silvia 20) Bobby Tripp 21) Bobby Pelland III 22) Dave Hutchins Sr 23) Mike Brightman 24) Dave Darling

Anthony Nocella picked up his first career Valenti Modified Racing Series win at one of their most prestigious events, the DAV Fall Classic. Nocella inherited the lead when Chris Pasteryak and Tommy Barret tangles on the 71st lap.

Todd Annarummo battled with Pasteryak over the first 1/3 of the event with Todd setting the pace for the first 30 laps. The pair races side by side through a handful of restarts. On the 34th circuit, with Todd running on the outside, the pair made contact, and the second generation Annarummo shot hard into the wall just past turn 4. Todd was able to climb out of his destroyed race car under his own power and was deemed ok by the safety team.

Once back underway, Steve Masse and Les Hinckley took turns pursing the Lisbon, CT driver, but could not find a weakness in the former champion. One driver that could was Barrett, as he wound up the outside lane and moved to the front on lap 71. As the pair raced off the second turn, they made contact and Barrett spun. Pasteryak was penalized to the rear.

Once back underway, Nocella set the pace and was not to be beaten on this night. Steve Masse put pressure on the former NEMA standout, but could not get past over the final laps. Les Hinckley pitted halfway through the race, and made it back to third in the final rundown. Rowan Pennink and Dwight Jarvis rounded out the top five.

1) Anthony Nocella 2) Steve Masse 3) Les Hinckley 4) Rowan Pennink 5) Dwight Jarvis 6) Norm Wrenn 7) Dana Smith 8) Jeff Rocco 9) Todd Owen 10) Mike Willis Jr 11) Max Zachem 12) Charlie Pasteryak 13) Dick Houlihan 14) Chris Pasteryak 15) Matt Mead 16) George Sherman 17) Dylan Kopek 18) Louie Mechalides19) Tom Barrett 20) Jeff Pearl 21) Richard Savary 22) Todd Patnode 23) Jon McKennedy 24) Todd Annarummo

Gerry DeGasparre Jr picked up his second DAV Fall Classic, holding off the charges of Charlie Rose over the final ten laps. Brandon Dion and DeGasparre led the field down to the green with the rookie setting the pace until the first caution came out on lap 21 for a spin.

DeGasparre had enough of following the 15 year old and overpowered him on the restart, taking over just shy of the halfway point. With a handful of cautions over the next 20 laps, the seven time champion held off the charges of Dion, Bill Bernard, Ryan Lineham and Rose. Rose held on for second, with Jeramee Lille, Dion and Vinny Arrenegado fourth and fifth.

1) Gerry DeGasparre Jr 2) Charlie Rose Jr 3) Jeramee Lillie 4) Brandon Dion 5) Vinny Arrenegado 6) Ray Parent 7) Bobby Pelland III 8) Bill Bernard 9) Nick Lascoula 10) Ryan Lineham 11) Ron Barboza 12) Mark Hudson 13) Dennis Stampfl 14) Jon Lowinski-Loh 15) Scott Dion

Mike Cavallaro dominated the 30 lap Sports Truck feature, leading from the drop of the green to the checkered. The five time champion jumped out into the lead on the opening lap with 2013 Sport Truck Champion John Paiva right behind. With a handful of restarts over the first half of the event, Cavallaro was able to keep him, and then Rick Martin at bay.

The final 13 laps went nonstop, and Cavallaro showed he was the class of the field once again and brought home the DAV Fall Classic win. Martin settled for second with Rob Murphy, Barry Shaw Jr and Paiva third through fifth.

1) Mike Cavallaro 2) Rick Martin 3) Rob Murphy 4) Barry Shaw Jr 5) John Paiva 6) Nick Uhrig 7) Darryl Church 8) Joey Wakefield 9) Dan Leach 10) Anna Gregoire 11) Chase Belcher 12) Rob Rainville 13) Chris Lima 14) Lenny Guy 15) Taylor Therrien 16) Tyler Boudreau 17) Billy Clarke 18) Rick Albernaz19) Mike Duarte 20) Bill Schoeler 21) David Lougee

Mike Mitchell returned to the Street Stocks for a one off event and picked up his second DAV Fall Classic win in the division. The 30 lap feature started off with fireworks at the front of the field when pole sitter Ryan Lineham and outside pole sitter Manny Dias were trading paint before the start finish line on the initial green. They scraped up and down each other before Dias spun with a flat left front tire. As he was heading into the pits, he let Lineham know how happy he was with contact, ending both of their nights.

Scott Serydynski was caught up in the incident and suffered damage. It wasn’t long after until Steve Potter and Austin Blais got together after the restart while running second and third. By the sixth circuit, there had already been half dozen cautions. Gerard Berthelette led the first five laps before Mitchell took over. Berthelette ran second with John Hanafin, Andy Johnson and Mike Lima third, fourth and fifth. The final caution came out on lap 20 when Berthelette spun on the front stretch.

Johnson moved into second on the restart, and pressured the former Street Stock champion to the stripe, but came up .221 short for his best finish of the season. Mike Lima finished third in his only outing of 2013, with 2013 Street champion fourth and Ed Gannon III fifth.

1) Mike Mitchell 2) Andy Johnson 3) Mike Lima 4) Scott Bruneau 5) Ed Gannon III 6) Chris DeMoura 7) Gerard Berthelette 8) Austin Blais 9) Brett Cullerton 10) Ray Negley 11) Glen Tavares 12) Al Clements IV 13) Ian Savard 14) David Smith 15) Vinny Pangelinan 16) Bobby Bettencourt 17) Daryl Perry 18) John Hanafin19) Tim Eaton 20) Stephen Potter 21) Scott Serydynski 22) Corey Fanning 23) Ron Barbosa 24) Chris Rioux 25) Ryan Lineham 26) Manny Dias

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *