Seekonk Speedway: Wisialko, Curtin, Sousa, Rolando and Meservey Snag Fast Friday Wins

RaceChaser Staff Northeast 0 Comments

Sept. 13, 2013 – Seekonk PR – Earl Curtin III made quick work from his fourth row starting position, and moved past early leader Kei-Lyn Manfredo on the fourth circuit of the 25 lap Pure Stock feature to pick up his third victory of the season. Manfredo jumped out in front of Dan Johnson on the opening lap, and set the early lead. Her top position didn’t last long until Curtin found the outside and moved past the third year driver.

Jon Fortin moved into second right behind the chase, but could not close in the gap in a race that was deplete of cautions. The battle for third was a heavy one as Amy Arsenault ran third with pressure from Ed Flanagan Jr and defending Pure Stock champion Jesse Melberg at various stages of the race.

The battle between this trio was three-wide on several occasions, but it was Melberg who had the grip when it counted and held on for third. Arsenault and Flanagan rounded out the top five.

Points leader John Robidoux finished seventh, which along with Curtin’s victory closes in the championship race between the two going into the final event. Unofficially, John has a 12 point advantage going into the last night.

1) Earl Curtin III 2) Joe Fortin 3) Jesse Melberg 4) Amy Arsenault 5) Ed Flanagan Jr 6) Jamie Salley 7) John Robidoux 8) Bill Doyle 9) Dan Johnson 10) Dan Massa Jr 11) Mark Murphy 12) Melissa Charente 13) Keri-Lyn Manfredo

Al Wisialko used a late race caution to move past, and eventually hold off points leader Nick Lascoula in the Nick’s Pit Stop Legends 25-lap race. Wisialko started fifth in the eleven car field, and started his push to the front early on.

Chris Robbins took the lead on the opening circuit, pulling away from Matt Carpenter immediately. His lead opened up to several car lengths before Andy Carpenter started to reel him in. John O’Sullivan ran third through the first half as Lascoula started to make his way to the front.

On the eighteenth circuit, Carpenter was able to move under Robbins, and take over the top spot. His lead only lasted 2/3-mile before Lascoula moved out front.

The final caution came out when Andy Carpenter spun. setting the stage for a four-lap shootout. Wisialko restarted on the outside of the front row, and the pair raced wheel to wheel for the next three laps before Wisialko moved out front and picked up his second career victory. Robbins held on for third, with O’Sullivan and Andy Carpenter rebounding for a fifth place finish.

With Lascoula’s runner up finish, he clinched the Nick’s Pit Stop Legends Championship.

1) Al Wisialko 2) Nick Lascoula 3) Chris Robbins 4) John O’Sullivan 5) Andrew Carpenter 6) Matt Carpenter 7) Jesse Melberg 8) Jesse Jakubajtys 9) Curt Snow 10) Joe Putnam 11) John Bellucci

The Sport4 feature came down to a three car battle for the win with Len Sousa picking up his first of the season. Kim Bickford led the opening lap before Gil Bradstreet moved past and to the top of the leader board. Bradstreet held the helm for a dozen laps before Sousa got the best of Gil on a restart.

Gil fell back after the green, which allowed Devin Miranda, Mike Glad and Shawn DeMello past. Over the final laps, Miranda was able to even up with Sousa, but didn’t have enough to make the pass. As he slid back, Glad was able to sneak under and take over the second position. Miranda held onto third, with DeMello and Henry Lavallee rounding out the top five.

Points leader Tyler Boudreau was caught in an early incident that involved Miranda, but was caught in the pits for repairs, and lost a lap to the leaders, relegating him to a 16th place finish. This jumbles the standing, giving Miranda a single point advantage over Boudreau, with DeMello only eight points out.

1) Lenny Sousa 2) Mike Glad 3) Devin Miranda 4) Shawn DeMello 5) Henry Lavallee 6) Gil Bradstreet 7) Dave Westgate 8) Eric Pellitier9) Dave Gargaro Jr 10) Chuck McDonald 11) Kim Bickford 12) Chris Testa 13) Bob Henry 14) Glen Leduc 15) Nick Mattera 16) Tyler Boudreau

Curtis Rolando moved to the front of the SYRA 750 division after avoiding an incident involving several cars, and never looked back in the 20 lap feature. Shelby Donovan led the first 1/3 mile before getting caught up in an incident that eliminated her and Ashley Kuhn. Taylor Bowser and Dave Lougee were also involved. Bowser was able to continue, and Lougee was penalized to the rear for the aggressiveness.

Lougee moved into second on the restart and held there until the final caution came out on the tenth lap for Christine Cavallaro, who stalled on the speedway. Bowser moved past into second on the restart, but was not able to catch Rolando, who clinched the SYRA 750 championship. He is also the 2011 SYRA 600 Champion.

1) Curtis Rolando 2) Taylor Bowser 3) Dave Lougee 4) Christine Cavallaro 5) Ashley Kuhn 6) Shelby Donovan

Cassie Meservey took off from her pole position starting position, and held the top position for the entire 20 lap SYRA 600 feature. Kendra Levesque held onto second until she was caught up on lap nine, forcing her to the back of the field.

David White tried to move into the lead on the restart, but fell back as Matt Barboza and TJ Morsehead moved past for second and third. With the laps winding down, the top three settled into a single file parade, and followed the third generation Meservey to her first ever win.

1) Cassie Meservey 2) Matt Barboza 3) TJ Morsehead 4) Brandon Lillie 5) Dave White 6) Derek Debbis 7) Joey Lembo 8) Jessica O’Leary 9) Doug Meservey 10) Sarah DeMello 11) Madison Birchall 12) Eric Lebrun 13) Mikey Toner 14) Kendra Levesque 15) Scott Serydynski Jr 16) Shea Kulpa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *